New Date For NAMA Legends@40 Awards Ceremony

The much anticipated event of the year, National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) were in honour of 40 legends from the arts industry who have made an impact.

As Cinema Society of Zimbabwe, we are grateful for such a gesture and we congratulate the artists who were honored. We applaud National Arts Council for a scintillating event.

“We are honored as a sector as honoring your own, whether a fallen legend or a living one, gives that sense of belonging and patriotism to the honored. Last night,  27th of March 2021, we witnessed the NAMA awards ceremony dedicated to Living Legends; indeed legends don’t die they just rest, and it was great touching base with the people who have spent most of their lives committed to arts development.” Mapfumo Katsaya, President of Cinema Society of Zimbabwe said.

“As Cinema Society, we applaud the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe, the Government of Zimbabwe and the corporate world who ensured a great night for Zimbabwe. We pray for more government input into the arts sector, especially film which is lagging behind.

“To the individual legends, we congratulate you and hope that you will use your recognition to pull others up.


1. Aaron Chiundura Moyo​​​
2. Adam Madebe​​​​​
3. Albert Nyathi​​​​​
4. Alick Macheso​​​​
5. Barbara Makhalisa-Nkala​​​
6. Barnabas Chadamoyo​​​​
7. Ben Mahaka​​​​​
8. Bothwell Nyamhondera ​​​
9. Chirikure Chirikure ​​
10. Cont Mhlanga​​​​​
11. Daves Guzha ​​​​​
12. Dominic Benhura​​​​
13. Ellen Mlangeni​​​​
14. Felix Moyo ​​​​​
15. Fradreck Mujuru​​​​
16. Helen Leiros​​​​​
17. Irene Chigamba​​​​
18. Jasen Mphepo​​​​​
19. Jesesi Mungoshi​​​​
20. Joe Njagu​​​​​
21. Joyce Jenje-Makwenda​​​
22. Lovemore Tshuma ​​​​
23. Matesu Dube​​​​​
24. Musaemura Zimunya​​​​
25. Nakai Matema ​​​​
26. Nicholas Zakaria​​​​
27. Nkululeko Innocent Dube ​​​
28. Pathisa Nyathi​​​​​
29. Paul Chidyausiku ​​​​
30. Rashid Jogee​​​​​
31. Shimmer Chinodya​​​​
32. Stella Chiweshe​​​​
33. Stephen Chigorimbo​​​​
34. Susan Chenjerai ​​​​
35. Susan Haines ​​​​​
36. Sylvester Mubayi ​​​​
37. Tapfuma Gutsa​​​​
38. Thomas Mapfumo​​​​
39. Tsitsi Dangarembga​​​​
40. Zexie Manatsa

Cinema Society of Zimbabwe

Cinema Society of Zimbabwe (CSZ) is a not-for-profit organization established in 2020 to develop and promote a sustainable film industry in Zimbabwethrough convergence of stakeholder groups, collaboration among stakeholders, provide capacity development to filmmakers, establish viable markets for Zimbabwean films, promote and preserve Zimbabwean cultural heritage and celebrate creative excellence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *